Blue Jays right-hander Marcus Stroman wins first Gold Glove award

Adjust Comment Print

In centerfield, Buxton committed just five errors with six outfield assists. Advanced metrics suggested that Dozier wouldn't win, but he edged out Boston's Dustin Pedroia and Detroit's Ian Kinsler.

Longoria is now the first player in Rays franchise history to win the Gold Gove three times. For the second time in his career, LeMahieu was named the Rawlings Gold Glove Award victor at second base. Arenado is also a candidate to snag the MVP this award's season, and now has five Gold Gloves. Perez and outfielder Lorenzo Cain were also nominated for Gold Gloves this year. Fans will be able to select one player among the 2017 Rawlings Gold Glove Award winners from each league. Bob Dernier is the only other Cubs outfielder to win the award, doing so in 1984. He led all left fielders with an ultimate zone rating of 11.5 and was third in defensive runs saved (9). He was named Baseball America's Minor League Player of the Year in 2013.

Voting for the Rawlings Platinum Glove Award™ presented by SABR began at the conclusion of the awards show at, allowing the general public to weigh in as to who is "The Finest in the Field®" in both the American League and National League.

Hosmer was awarded his fourth Gold Glove. The SABR Defensive Index comprises approximately 25 percent of the overall selection total, while the managers' and coaches' vote continues to carry the majority.